King, Pierce, and Snohomish Counties


King County

Located on Puget Sound in Washington State, and covering more than 2,200 square miles, King County is nearly twice as large as the average county in the United States. With more than 1.7 million people, it also ranks as the 12th most populous county in the nation.


Pierce County

Pierce County is the second most populous county in the state of Washington. It was named for U.S. President Franklin Pierce. As of 2004, the population was 744,000. The county seat is Tacoma, on Commencement Bay.  

Pierce County is notable for being home to the Mount Rainier volcano, the tallest mountain in the Cascade Range.


Snohomish County

Snohomish County is located on Puget Sound, between Skagit County to the north and King County (and Seattle) to the south. Covering 2,090 square miles, it is the 13th largest county in Washington. Snohomish County’s varied topography ranges from saltwater beaches, rolling hills and rich river bottom farmlands in the west to dense forest and alpine wilderness in the mountainous east. Glacier Peak, at 10,541 feet, is one of the highest mountains in the country. Sixty-eight percent of the county is forest land, 19% is rural, 8% is urban/city and 5% is agricultural (1993 figures).